Trade Deals and Labour Markets | AMVL Migrations




A trade deal between eleven Pacific Rim countries is set to be ratified by the Australian Government, after support for the deal was raised by the Labor Party.


The ‘Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership’ (CPTPP) is an agreement between Australia, Japan, Canada, Australia, Mexico, Malaysia, Singapore, Chile, Peru, Vietnam, New Zealand and Brunei.


Its aim is to make it easier and cheaper to export and invest between member countries, to cut tariffs, and have common laws and regulations.


On an Immigration front, the deal will also make it easier for Australian businesses to sponsor skilled workers from member countries, or for foreign businesses to move their staff to their Australian businesses, under the Temporary Skills Shortage (TSS) visa program.


Under the terms of the deal, there would be a waiver on labour market testing (LMT) requirements for workers from Canada, Peru, Mexico, Brunei, Malaysia and Vietnam. Workers from Chile, Japan, New Zealand, and Singapore already have access to a waiver under other agreements.


Further details on the CPTPP are available on the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade website.